Abandoned places

March 24, 2009

I have recently come across some of my old photographs and I noticed an interesting theme occurring.  I have many photos of old abandoned places.  I did some snooping around the Internet, and it seems this is something that has captured the attention of many photographers and so called urban/rural explorers.  I guess what sparked my search was the photos I posted a few days ago of the old fishing shack in Kingsburg.  I knew I wanted to put together a project consisting of old fallen down houses, churches and schools in Nova Scotia, but I didn’t realize just how many of these photographs I’d already taken.  So for your viewing pleasure, here are some of the highlights:

Rose Bay Barn - Paul Maybee

Rose Bay Barn - Paul Maybee

Let’s start with this one, close to Kingsburg- on the way, in fact.  Here is a barn that no longer exists.

Rose Bay Barn (back) - Paul Maybee

Rose Bay Barn (back) - Paul Maybee

Actually, here is a photo from the other side of this barn.  I forgot I had this one until I posted the previous photo.

Fallen Farmhouse - Paul Maybee

Fallen Farmhouse - Paul Maybee

This one is in New Brunswick, somewhere near the Nova Scotia border.  I think it’s between Pugwash, NS and Sackville, NB.  I love in this one how each building has decided to lean a different way, and how the field is just slowing taking the farm back.

Fence and River - Paul Maybee

Fence and River - Paul Maybee

Here is another one from rural New Brunswick.  This old fence is just a fading reminder of what this land might have looked like a hundred years ago.

Building Bridges - Paul Maybee

Building Bridges - Paul Maybee

Now here’s one from Halifax, NS.  This was taken in 2003 I believe and you can see the MacKay Bridge in the foreground.  This building caught my eye as I drove by and I had to loop back around to get a photo of it.  I enjoy the ladder that goes into the window because you can’t see the top of it; it just fades into the darkness.

Old Barn - Paul Maybee

Old Barn - Paul Maybee

Orchard - Paul Maybee

Orchard - Paul Maybee

Tractor - Paul Maybee

Tractor - Paul Maybee

Tractor Seat - Paul Maybee

Tractor Seat - Paul Maybee

These are from an old farm I found outside of Sackville, NB.  All of the farm equipment was still left in the field behind the barn, and the field had taken it back.

Wild Country Saloon - Paul Maybee

Wild Country Saloon - Paul Maybee

The Wild Country Saloon was, I’m sure, a happening place to be until all the busses stopped running.

Bus and Fence - Paul Maybee

Bus and Fence - Paul Maybee

This one is from Vermont, another old broken down bus, but this one was now being used for storage.  Someone probably lived in this bus for a few years while it was still on the road.

Nutby House in Rain - Paul Maybee

Nutby House in Rain - Paul Maybee

Nutby House in Snow - Paul Maybee

Nutby House in Snow - Paul Maybee

And of course… everyone knows the old Nutby house.  It’s also one of the most photographed placed in Nova Scotia, or I should say it WAS.  There’s not much left to photograph now but a field with the odd cow here and there.  So here it is, immortalized.  I am happy to have had the chance to take some photos of the place before it came down.  It really hung in there for quite some time.

So here’s the beginning of a project for me.  This spring will be a time again for me to get lost along rural backroads and find these old gems, still hanging on as a beacon from the past, a silent reminder of a time long since forgotten.  I hope you enjoy it, and thanks for stopping by.

21 Responses to “Abandoned places”

  1. Tom said

    these are great. especially the ones of the nutby house. i heard it was gone now…

    • Paul Maybee said

      Thanks Tom,
      yeah, it’s gone now. I actually have a video tape of my wife and I driving up to it thinking it was going to be there, but it was just empty space. It’s kinda too bad, but it had to happen some time. I guess too many people were going inside and it just wasn’t safe. At least I got some photos first.

  2. Tunz said

    hey man – these pics look great! nice work!

  3. Ned said

    Heya Paul, great collection. Remind me sometime to show you some pictures I took two summers ago of abandoned houses in Brownsdale, NL.

  4. Dayna said

    Hi Paul. Thank goodness you had the foresight ‘way back when’ to take these pics. and save them. And to then share them with us. I especially love the country pics. The buildings are ‘just’ buildings, I suppose, but to me, they represent the dreams of entire generations. Fathers thinking that this farm will be handed down to my son and then his son, etc. Of course, now we know that that doesn’t happen much anymore like the ‘oldtimers’ planned but I still feel and see their dreams when I look at the buildings. Thank you and more pics.?!

  5. marion said

    i really enjoyed your pics. i find such a facination with old barns and old houses. it is sad, as they once held families, and now there is nothing . never to be no more.

    • gypsyproductions said

      Hello Marion,
      Yes, they are so captivating, and I’ve yet to completely figure out my fascination with them. I find they still hold a quiet beauty as relics of their (our) past and they have many stories to tell, most of which will never be heard. Do you have a favorite abandoned house (or place) near you? Thanks for commenting and reading!

      Cheers!
      Paul

  6. miah wilson said

    My mom and I were just enjoying your ice-climbing/New Brunswick photos when my mom said, “HEY THAT’S GRAHAM!” Coincidentally, I graduated with Graham and was good friends with him in high school.

    Great photos!

    • gypsyproductions said

      🙂
      That’s great! Graham is a great guy to have around, and we sure had some fun this winter. Thanks for reading!

      Cheers!
      Paul

  7. jeremie said

    would be interested in knowing the location of the farm near sackville… the only place I could think it would be is rockport… I’m gathering since you been through beaumont 🙂

    Also interested in the location of the wild country saloon. I do a lot of driving I could probalby offer you some interesting locations in return.

    • gypsyproductions said

      Hello Jeremie,
      I believe this farm is on King St. You just keep going and it will be on the left. I’m pretty sure that’s where it was. Yes, I was through Beaumont. That’s where the fence photo was taken. The Wild Country Saloon, however, I believe is closer to Memramcook. Somewhere between Memramcook and St. Joseph, I believe. I’m not sure exactly where though. Probably along that stretch of road.

      Let me know if you find it again!
      Cheers!
      Paul

      • Jeremie said

        Hey are you on facebook?

        I think we should keep in touch I, like you, hunt places like these…. By the way if you are brave enough there is good photography to be had inside the houses…….

        The country Saloon I should be able to find!
        I know some people in Memramcook who would know of this place.

        There 2 going towards the jost winery in Nova scotia. Following the costal road to tatamagouche, Ns there are two more… Both of them would be on the drivers side.

        There is also a big one going towards great village from Parsborrow a house and a few barns.

        There’s 1 in Midgic it’s going towards sackville it’s actually not far past the y junction for cookville/sacville. This one will be on the passenger side if you are coming from shemogue or cookville. It’s really well hidden

        There is also 3 abandoned house going up to Alma from Moncton

        There is a great one going towards waterside really well hidden it’s down a steep bank on the passenger side it’s tuck away in between two hills!

        There is one or two going towards Londonderry NS from great village.

        Just a few that comes to mind at the moment.

        Lol I got leads to other ones thought need to track em down first….. Oh yeah there’s also some going down toward St-Martin from sussex.

        I got a lot more thought this should keep you busy for a bit 🙂

        I also know the location of abandoned cemetaries, an old High way bridge that still half there, a couple churches I know of 2 abandoned hotels. I also had found and abandonned drive in the woods thought I am unsure if that still remains. They logged the are since then. The list goes on and on 🙂

        Sight I travel a lot.

    • karen said

      Hey Jeremie…with all of your “abandoned” wisdom, i wonder if you would be willing to giude me to an old abandoned place somewhere near Moncton for a Trash the Dress shoot 🙂

      Much appreciated!!

      Karen

  8. Wayne said

    It is incredable how many different people have photographed the old Nutby house(actually known to residents as “the lynch place”. I was living here when I started attending the Nutby school in 1954. Wonderful site, I enjoy all the pictures.

    • gypsyproductions said

      Thank you Wayne,
      Great to hear from someone who lived in that house! Do you still live in the area? I would love to talk with you about the house if you would be willing.

      Cheers!
      Paul

  9. Arne said

    Nova Scotia… such a beautiful, decaying place. Mostly because everything is made of wood except for the cities (and then, there’s only really one city). You could point your camera almost anywhere and get a great photo.

  10. Anonymous said

    The “fallen farmhouse” pic is located in Memramcook, NB. You can see it on the drive along the Petitcodiac river to the old Indian Church at Beaumont. It faces Hillsborough, NB on the opposite side of the river. The decaying fence pic is a remnant of an old diking system near the same Church, I believe.

    • gypsyproductions said

      Thanks for clarifying, anonymous! Yes, there are so many places like this in the Maritimes that are a part of our scenery, and our history. It’s great to hear a local perspective on what these abandoned places were before they became “scenery”.
      Cheers!
      Paul

  11. Kyle said

    Hey Paul! I was just wondering, where is the Wild Country Saloon located at? I loved all the photos you had taken and would love to visit this location. Thanks for uploading these photos again!

    • gypsyproductions said

      Hi Kyle,

      Thanks for reading this! The Saloon is in Memramcook. I’m not sure of it’s exact location, but it’s a wonderful place to spend a day looking around and you’re bound to come across it.

      Cheers!
      Paul

Leave a comment